K-12 Model Standards

Character and Social-Emotional Development

Character and Social-Emotional Development

Character.org developed the Model Standards for Character and Social-Emotional Development
(CSED) in 2019 to fuse together character and social-emotional development.


The first section identifies and explains the different character strengths within four areas
of character development:

- Moral
- Performance
- Intellectual
- Civic


The second section identifies and explains the five areas of Social-Emotional Learning (SEL):

- Self-awareness
- Self-management
- Social awareness
- Interpersonal/relationship skills
- Responsible & ethical decision-making

The CSED Model Standards were developed to ensure that every young person
graduating from high school is ready to enter college or the workforce with the
requisite knowledge, skills, and character strengths.

Coming Soon: Download the CSED Model Standards

Learn More

Interested to learn how to use the CSED Model Standards
in your classroom, school, or district?

Contact Us