Designates 2019 Schools of Character

Press Releases ,
Program developed in 1998 has positively impacted the lives of 3 million students

WASHINGTON, DC (May 10, 2019) –, a national advocate and leader for character in communities including schools, families, workplaces, and sports, today designated 88 schools and 3 districts in 24 states as National Schools of Character as well as 1 school as a China School of Character for 2019. Since’s School of Character program’s inception, the process has impacted nearly 3 million students, staff, parents, and other community members. Each year, certifies schools and districts at the state and national level that demonstrate a dedicated focus on character development, which has a positive effect on academic achievement, student behavior, and school climate. Schools and districts announced today are joining the ranks of’s highest distinction – National Schools of Character. (See the complete list of 2019 National Schools of Character below.)

“We are pleased to announce the 2019 National Schools and Districts of Character today,” said Doug Karr,’s President & CEO. “These schools’ representatives, including educators, parents, and students, are working together to create stronger communities focused on character. We are honored to validate their efforts and continue coaching them along their journeys. ”

To learn more about the schools chosen today, please visit’s website. Criteria for selection are based on’s 11 Principles of Effective Character, which include providing students with opportunities for moral action, fostering shared leadership, and engaging families and communities as partners in the character-building effort.

“Implementing the 11 Principles of Effective Character has provided a clear, intentional, and structured roadmap for promoting the highest ethical standards at Harmony Public Schools. Character is one of the most important attributes we can teach our students, because good character will serve them throughout their lives–in their homes, in their schools, in their families, and in their communities,” said Umit Alpaslan, Harmony Public Schools Deputy Superintendent. will honor these schools and districts at the 2019 National Forum to be held Oct 24-27, 2019 in Washington, DC.

About Founded in 1993, is a national nonprofit based in Washington, D.C. It works with communities including organizations, schools, families, workplaces, and sports to inspire, educate, and empower people to be ethical and compassionate citizens. is a membership organization dedicated to growth and success through the advancement of quality character development in schools and communities through programs and resources. Visit to learn more.

2019 National Schools and Districts of Character


Jinling Primary School


Imagine Cortez Park


Coastal Academy


Tracey Elementary School

District of Columbia

Hope Community Public Charter School-Lamond Campus


*Apollo Beach Elementary
Imagine School at North Port
*Imagine School at Town Center
Imagine Schools at West Melbourne
Imagine South Vero
Seminole Science Charter School


Emge Jr. High School
Harmony Intermediate Center
St. Mary of the Angels School


Anthony Elementary
David Brewer Elementary School


Kenwood Elementary


Pocomoke High School


*Harlan Elementary
Larson Middle School


*Community of Peace Academy


National Districts of Character

Ladue School District
*Lindbergh School District
*Mehlville School District

National Schools of Character

*Blevins Elementary
Hancock Place High School
Hanna Woods Elementary School
Hillcrest STEAM Academy
*Hiram Neuwoehner High School
Ladue Early Childhood Center
*Ladue Middle School
Lafayette High School
*Lindbergh High School
Maple Grove Elementary
*McKelvey Elementary
*Sperreng Middle School
Truman Middle School


*Longfellow Elementary School

New Jersey

*Cheesequake Elementary School
Dr. Albert Einstein Academy School No. 29
Frances C. Smith ECC School No. 50
Green-Fields Elementary
Greenwood Elementary School
Harker Wylie
Helen A. Fort Middle School
*Henry C. Beck Middle School
Isaiah Haines Elementary School
*James A. McDivitt Elementary School
James F. Cooper Elementary School
James H. Johnson Elementary School
Kingston Elementary School
Lakeview School
Langtree Elementary School
Marshall Hill School
Nicholas S. LaCorte Peterstown School No. 3
*Pauline J. Petway Elementary
Perth Amboy High School
*Raymond E. Voorhees Elementary School
Riverview Elementary School
Stony Brook School, North Plainfield
Stony Brook School, Rockaway Township
Valley Middle School
West Milford Township High School
William Mason Elementary School
Woodcrest Elementary School

New York

Crompond Elementary School
Lee Road Elementary School
Meadow Elementary School
Smallwood Drive Elementary School
*Smith Street School


*Centerville Primary Village North


Roosevelt Elementary
*Sadler Arts Academy


*Charles Boehm Middle School
Chestnutwold Elementary School
St. Cyril of Alexandria


Acton Elementary
Cambridge Elementary School
Goforth Elementary
Henry Bauerschlag Elementary
Howard Early Childhood Center
Klein Forest High School
Klein High School
LaVace Stewart Elementary
Margaret S McWhirter Elementary
Oak Woods School
Ross Elementary
School of Science and Technology Advancement
School of Science and Technology Corpus Christi
*Southside Elementary School
Weber Elementary School


Edgewood School

*Denotes a re-certifying National School of Character.